An Explanation of HDMI and DVI

This Sunday morning the Brack Man is getting technical bringing you an explanation of HDMI vs DVI.

You may have heard of the acronymns in passing and done this:  huh?

Well, each of these are inputs on your TV or Computer.  In fact, the reason that I am researching these is to learn how to connect my laptop to my TV. 

Basically, here’s the skinny as I read in Getting Technical With HDMI .  HDMI is the new type of connection and you want to use it whenever possible.  It carries digital video AND audio at incredible speeds.

The catch here is that your laptop may not have a HDMI connection.  If it does not, then you will have to consider DVI as a connection between your laptop and your LCD TV.  A DVI cable, however, does not carry audio signals.  In this case, you will have to use your laptops headphone output for your audio connection.

Is it possible that your laptop has neither HDMI or DVI?  The answer, unfortunately, is yes.  If this is the case, you will have to use a VGA connection which still looks ok.

For me, I have the new ASUS UL30A-X5 Thin and Light 13.3-Inch Black Laptop which has an HDMI connection so I am all set. By the way, this laptop rules if you are interested.

So, this morning, I will be getting an HDMI cable and viewing my laptop screen on my LCD TV. And this my friends puts me in a terrific mood!

Published in: on January 17, 2010 at 9:01 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brack888.wordpress.com/2010/01/17/an-explanation-of-hdmi-and-dvi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

